Abigail writes a weekly column for Dear Abbie: The Non-Advice Column, where she explores the situation of women. She thinks women’s lives are highly interesting. She also has written numerous articles accessible through academia.edu.

Dear Abbie: The Non Advice Column

Recent Posts

  • Atonement and Forgiveness
    This week, when Jewish time has been flowing between the New Year 5781 and the sacrosanct Day of Atonement, I have asked a couple of people I know for forgiveness. It’s the time of year when this is required, for any wrong one has done to another.  I can’t imagine anyone performing this duty with ease, which is doubtless one reason why these are called the Days of Awe. For my part, I can’t recall ever having done it at any time before this past week. Whether it’s easy or hard,  till now, I […]
  • getting over itNot Getting Over It
    When one has been through a difficult passage in the course of one’s life, it’s common to get the collective advice from Job’s Comforters:  get over it! I’ve always thought that was very bad advice – except maybe for horses with fences to jump. For us people, by contrast, the real challenge is to get through it – normally by getting way down to the bottom of it, navigating that and suffering it through. As I mentioned in a previous column, for the past ten days we’ve been in California, first […]
  • Book Matters
    “Young Girl Reading”Seymour Joseph Guy, 1877 Dogs that Know When Their Owners Are Coming Home: And Other Unexplained Powers of Animals by Rupert Sheldrake We’ve been in California for the past week and a half for hybrid purposes: first a conference of the Eric Voegelin Society in Los Angeles at which Jerry and I each gave papers, followed next by four days of treatments for me at the Neuropathic Therapy Center at Loma Linda, CA.  Each back-to-back turn of this two-fold plot had its own entirely […]
  • Book Matters
    “Young Girl Reading” Seymour Joseph Guy, 1877 The Arc of A Covenant: The United States, Israel, and the Fate of the Jewish People By Walter Russell Mead This is a deliberately big book, 585 pages of text, with nearly a hundred more pages of notes and index. Its ambition is also huge: to present and explain the relation between American identity on the one hand, and on the other, the Jews and Israel. Mead takes that relation to register our changing sense of what it is to be an American. […]
  • Overload
    From the “Exodus Series Paintings” by Maria Lago. Straight ahead for us this week is a trip to California, with complex, hybrid purposes. Following an academic weekend in L.A., where both of us are presenting papers at the Eric Voegelin Society (which is a group within the American Political Science Association), we spend whatever remains of the post-Labor Day week getting me more treatments for my neuropathy. The preparations for such a two-purpose trip have been varied, complex, with […]

Dear Abbie: The Non Advice Column
Abigail L. Rosenthal

Abigail L. Rosenthal is Professor Emerita of Philosophy, Brooklyn College of The City University of New York. Author of Pulitzer Prize nominee A Good Look at Evil. Her forthcoming book, Confessions of a Young Philosopher, accounts for a key decade of her life as a pilgrimage in the tradition of Augustine and Rousseau. Abigail is editor of The Consolations of Philosophy: Hobbes’s Secret; Spinoza’s Wayby her father, Henry M. Rosenthal.


Dear Abbie: The Non Advice Column

Are the Stories We Live True? Dear Abbie – The Non-Advice Podcast

Good people try to live the sorts of stories that will solve the problems of their lives as reasonably and realistically as they can. Meanwhile, evil people aim to mess up good people’s stories. When I first spoke in public about my view (later published in A Good Look at Evil) colleagues either treated it as a fantasy or as something a girl would like to think, poor dear.Abigail L. Rosenthal is Professor Emerita at Brooklyn College of The City University of New York. She is the author of Confessions of A Young Philosopher (forthcoming), which is a woman's "confession" in the tradition of Augustine and Rousseau. She writes a weekly online column, "Dear Abbie: The Non-Advice Column" along with "Dear Abbie: The Non-Advice Podcast," where she explains why women's lives are highly interesting. Many of her articles are accessible at https://brooklyn-cuny.academia.edu/AbigailMartin. She edited The Consolations of Philosophy: Hobbes's Secret; Spinoza's Way by her father, the late Henry M. Rosenthal. She is married to Jerry L. Martin, also a philosopher. They live in Bucks County, Pennsylvania. She can be reached a dearabbiesilvousplait@gmail.com.
  1. Are the Stories We Live True?
  2. Should the Dead Know Their Place?
  3. Paying Nostalgia Forward
  4. Freud and Fradulence
  5. Is the Bible True?

Dear Abbie: The Non Advice Column

Dear Abbie: The Non Advice Column

Beyond Dear Abbie: The Non-Advice Column

Confessions of a Young Philosopher | Forthcoming

A Good Look at Evil | Pulitzer Prize Nominee

Spoiling One’s Story: The Case of Hannah Arendt

God and the Care for One’s Story