About

Abigail Rosenthal is Professor Emerita of Philosophy, Brooklyn College of The City University of New York.  She is the author of A Good Look at Evil, a Pulitzer Prize nominee, now appearing in an expanded second edition and as audiobooks. Its thesis is that good people try to live stories that will solve the problematic of their lives, while evil people aim to mess up good people’s stories. 

Her next book, Confessions of a Young Philosopher, forthcoming with illustrations, accounts for a key decade of her life as a pilgrimage in the tradition of Augustine and Rousseau.

Dr. Rosenthal writes a weekly column for “Dear Abbie: The Non-Advice Column,” (www.dearabbie-nonadvice.com) where she explores the situation of women. She thinks women’s lives are highly interesting. She’s the editor of The Consolations of Philosophy: Hobbes’s Secret; Spinoza’s Way by her father, Henry M. Rosenthal.  She’s written numerous articles that can be accessed at Academia.edu .

She is married to Jerry L. Martin, also a philosopher. When they met, he lived and worked in Washington D.C. and she in New York.  They now live midway, in a small town in Bucks County, Pennsylvania.

Abigail,about

2 Responses to About

  1. Abigail says:

    Dear literarylew, I am so pleased to get your comment. Many thanks for taking the time to send it.

    Like

  2. literarylew says:

    I really needed to “meet” you today on Voeglin View. You were a “timely” visitor into my life, a “word fitly spoken.” Thanks

    Like

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s